The Comfort of Books

Standard

Each of us, when our day’s work is done, must seek our ideal, whether it be love or pinochle or lobster à la Newburg, or the sweet silence of the musty bookshelves.”     –O. Henry

I remember walking to the Mary Willis Library in Washington, Georgia when I was a young girl.  I would find a book I wanted to check out, but instead of going home, I would sit in one of the chairs or at a table and feel the filtered light, dust motes and old planks while I read, the smell of furniture polish and old books in the air I breathed in and out.  There’s something about a quiet, still old library that no bookstore with overstuffed chairs, coffee and piped in music will ever match.  I wish there were more of them.

Aside – I know they must have needed to put carpet over those gorgeous creaky boards, but GEEZ, couldn’t they have chosen something more in keeping?  That gray pedestrian pile is almost sacrilegious in my second church.  🙂

Mary Willis Library

Leave a Reply

