Concoction and Tonic

Standard
Leaves can be used for tea - and also toilet paper!

Mullein

I have had such a good time with my CSA boxes this year.  White Oak Pastures now includes a bunch of herbs.  This week it’s sorrel, last week it was citrus thyme.  I wrapped the thyme in a damp paper towel, put it in the fridge and promptly forgot about it.  Found it today, a little dry and sad looking.  I took the rubber band off and crushed the whole bunch, stems and all, down into my tea basket, along with 2 teaspoons of dried mullein leaf and a teaspoon of dried spearmint from my herb garden last year.  WOW!  This stuff is wonderful.  Mullein is one of my favorites for health – great for your trachea and bronchial tubes, good for your stomach and calms your head – but the sweetness of the mint and tart citrus flavor make it one I’d drink just for the taste!  Just let me husband have a sip and he said, “Umm, complicated.  Tastes like gummi bears.” That’s good,right?  🙂

The Abbess Hildegard von Bingen stated, “He who drinks a cup of thyme tea instead of coffee in the morning will soon feel the beneficial effect: enlivened spirits, great comfort in the stomach, no coughing in the morning and an overall well-being.”

Mullein is really pretty in the garden, as you can see, although I’ll bet it takes over.   You can use the leaves for tea, chew on them to relieve breathing issues when walking, even use the leaves for toilet paper.  They are apparently good medicine for hemorrhoids.  Looks like I’ll be ordering more seeds!
Leave a Reply

