Paintings in my heart

Standard

I’ll add one of these every now and then – paintings that are so atmospheric, so dear, like a breeze through this window.  I can almost feel it.  Another way to put it would be, I could hang this over my bed and never get tired of coming in the room and seeing it first thing.  It makes me feel so calm, but also has some anticipation.  When will the next wind flutter the curtains?  Can you hear the birds in the garden below?  Pretty sure I can hear the one on the windowsill.  I love the pulley ropes and locks – it’s just a real window, not prettied up too much, happy just as it is.

Window Marienstrasse

Adolf von Menzel (Polish/German, 1815-1905) – View from a window in the Marienstrasse (1867)

Leave a Reply

