St Francis of Assisi

Standard

WHEN I RETURNED FROM ROME

A
bird took flight.
And a flower in a field whistled at me
as I passed.

I drank
from a stream of clear water.
And at night the sky untied her hair and I fell asleep
clutching a tress
of God’s.

When I returned from Rome, all said to me,
“Tell us the great news,”

and with great excitement, I did: “A flower in a field whistled,
and at night the sky untied her hair and
I fell asleep clutching a
sacred tress …”

Francis of Assisi as rendered by Daniel Ladinsky in Love Poems from God, Page 32

CELEBRATING FRANCIS<br /><br /><br /><br />
Today the Catholic church celebrates the feast of Francis of Assisi. To celebrate this day I prayed with this poem early this morning. Walk with these simple verses through this day and let the spirit of Francis wash over you.<br /><br /><br /><br />
WHEN I RETURNED FROM ROME<br /><br /><br /><br />
Abird took flight.And a flower in a field whistled at meas I passed.<br /><br /><br /><br />
I drankfrom a stream of clear water.And at night the sky untied her hair and I fell asleepclutching a tressof God’s.<br /><br /><br /><br />
When I returned from Rome, all said to me,“Tell us the great news,”<br /><br /><br /><br />
and with great excitement, I did: “A flower in a field whistled,and at night the sky untied her hair andI fell asleep clutching asacred tress …”<br /><br /><br /><br />
Francis of Assisi as rendered byDaniel Ladinsky in Love Poems from God, page 32<br /><br /><br /><br />
Photo | I am not aware of the original source of this sculpture of Francis but I know it is found in Saints Peter and Paul Cemetery in Naperville, Illinois. If anybody knows the name of the artist who sculpted this wonderful image of Francis  please let me know.

Leave a Reply

